Roos look forward to next season

September 06, 2017

A Grade award winners Ella Kingston, Steph Clancy, Kiara McLean, Coach Georgie Bruce and Sophie Hanrahan.

Corowa-Rutherglen senior Coach Terry Burgess with senior award winners Jack Schilg, Hayden Filliponi, Brent Rose, Will Robinson, Jed Griffin and James Lawton.

Corowa-Rutherglen reserves award winners Shane Manning, Tycarl Cole, Daniel Webb with Coach Rob Black.

Under 16s award winners Molly King, Ally Halton, Zali Spencer (absent) Zoe McLeish and Coach Steph Clancy.

C Grade Coach Sophie Hanrahan, Manager Carlie Smith with C Grade award winners Amy Hansen, Belinda Patterson and Bec Kuschert. Absent was Emma Linclair.

B Grade award winners Ro Black, Lisa Cooper, Jess King, Coach Noel Halton and Maddi Clark.

Corowa-Rutherglen award winner in the 3rds Josh Tidd, Mac MacFarland, James Hanrahan, Taylor Baker, Jesse O’Donoghue, Jed Griffin and coach Beau Schilg. Absent was Coach Joe Hansen.

The Corowa-Rutherglen Football Netball Club Vote Count and Presentation Night was held on Friday evening and recognised not only players but the volunteers who ensure the club keeps going year after year.

Club Person of the Year Award was awarded to husband and wife team Nicole and Terry Griffin.

Corowa-Rutherglen Football Netball Club President Graham Hosier said the award was important as it recognised volunteers and the tireless work they do for the club.

“Nicole and Terry are both worthy winners of the award,” he said.

“Nicole works hard to make sure the netball is ready each week and manages sides when people are away from time to time, she just jumps in and does it.

“She is also on the board and organises social functions and makes sure there is food there for the kids at these events.

“Nicole was in charge of organising a netball reunion earlier this year - 25 years of netball in the Ovens Murray, which was great to see.

“Then we have Terry who helps out with the thirds football and makes sure the pies are going on the cold days and on training nights.”

Nicole said she felt embarrassed to take out the volunteer award since she is on the club board.

“You don’t do these things to win awards or be recognised, you do it for the love of the club but it was a nice surprise for my husband and I,” she said.

“A lot of work went into organising the netball reunion around Easter time and it was a great event.”

Mr Hosier said the club was looking forward to next season.

“It’s a fresh start with a new coach for the seniors and we are really looking forward to it,” he said.

“We will have a new coach and a new direction.

“Hopefully we can get some recruits and some local kids back to the club.”

Mr Hosier took the opportunity to thank the community, the volunteers and the sponsors.

“We want to thank everyone for sticking by the club, and it is people like Nicole and Terry that keeps our club going and makes us strong,” he said.

“You need not only footballers but volunteers and good support about the club.”


Under 16s - Best and Fairest - Zali Spencer donated by Corowa Hotel.

Runner-Up - Zoe McLeish donated by David Lane Builder.

Most Consistent - Ally Halton donated by Graham Gyles.

Best Team Player -Molly King.

C Grade

Best and Fairest – Bec Kuschert donated by Corowa Sportspower.

Runner-Up - Belinda Patterson donated by Peter Hughes Framing.

Consistent - Amy Hansendonated by Dingle & Co.

Best Team Player – Emma Sinclair.

B Grade

Best and Fairest – Rowena Black donated by Steeline Roofing Centre.

Runner-Up - Lisa Copper donated by Arthur Warhurst.

Most Consistent - Jess King donated by D’Amico’s Licensed Restaurant Corowa.

Best Team Player – Maddi Clark.

A Grade

Best and Fairest - Steph Clancy donated by Marshall Batteries Corowa.

Runner-Up - Sophie Hanrahan donated by Corowa Golf Club and Motel.

Most Consistent - Ella Kingston – donated by Fred Longmire.

Best Team Player - Kiara McLean.



Best and Fairest (John Kingston Trophy) - Jed Griffin donated by Ken Eales.

Runner-Up – James Hanrahan donated by Corowa Sportspower.

Most Consistent - Taylor Baker donated by Brian Stanger.

Most Improved - Josh Tidd donated by Corowa Bakery.

Most Determined – Mac McFarland donated by Brian Griffin.

Most Valued – Jess O’Donoghue donated by Peter Stathis and Graham Gyles.


Best and Fairest – Tycarl Cole donated by Corowa Golf Club.

Runner-Up - George Neely donated by Corowa Free Press.

Most Consistent - Lincoln Ash donated by Cliff Forge.

Most Improved - Adrian Taylor donated by G and K Hosier Plumbing

Most Determined - Shane Manning donated by Stockdale and Leggo.

Coaches Award - Daniel Webb donated by Rob Black.


Best and Fairest (Jim Sandral Medal) - Brent Rose donated by Corowa RSL Club.

Runner-Up - William Robinson donated by Corowa Plumtec.

Most Consistent - James Lawton donated by Hotel Australia.

Most Improved - Jack Schilg donated by Gyles Newsagency.

Rookie of the Year – Jed Griffin donated by Focus Engineering and Construction.

Coaches Award - Hayden Filliponi donated by Terry Burgess.

Club Volunteer Award - Joint winners - Nicole and Terry Griffin.

More in The Corowa Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text