Burgess becomes life member

April 18, 2018

Greg Burgess has become a life member of the Corowa Cricket Club after the club held its presentation on Sunday, April 8 at Ball Park Oval.

Burgess has been a great servant of the Cricket Club over his past 24 years of playing, racking up 281 matches for the club.
In those matches, he made 4789 runs at 21 with a highest score of 188*, Greg also took 537 wickets at 13.90 with a best of 7 for 14.
He has played in four premierships, won the Cricketer of the Year award 14 times, the batting average five times and the bowling average 10 times.
Along with captaining, the B Grade side for eight years and helping with the younger players in B Grade throughout his career.
A well-deserved reward for Greg.
In A Grade, Nathan Rhodes won the Cricketer of the Year award in the premiership year.
Englishman Tyler Easton took out the Batting award while Mark Athanitis took out the Bowling award.
Matt Grantham was awarded best in the Semi-Final for his knock of 62.
Matt Ross was best in the Preliminary Final for his 4 for 12 off 9 overs while coach Dan Athanitis was awarded best in the Grand Final.
B Grade saw Greg Burgess take out his 14th Cricketer of the Year award.
Youngster Jacob Bartlett took out the Batting award while Joe Hansen took home the Bowling Award.
In the finals, Joe Hansen was awarded the Best in the Semi-Final, Greg Burgess the Best in Preliminary Final and Jacob Bartlett Best in the Grand Final.
C Grade saw Billy Raggett take out the Cricketer of the Year award.
Corey Smith’s superb season with bat saw him take out the Batting award while Mark Wallis took out the Bowling Award.
Captain Jake Burdon won the Best in Semi-Final while Declan Stewart won the Best in Grand Final.
In the Under 16’s Blue Captain Jordan Eyers took out the Cricketer of the Year, while Luke Backhouse won the Bowling and Lochie Conboy took out the Batting.
Gabrielle Sutcliffe received the Coaches award, Angas McFarland won the Best in the Semi-Final and Darcy Melksham was best in the Grand Final.
While in the Under 16’s White side Luke Heagney was the Cricketer of the Year, Will Seymour took out the Batting, while Caleb Kuschert won the Bowling.
Jacob Read received the Coaches award.
Lah Surendran donated two awards for the Under 16’s and Jake Beveridge and Alex Lavis took them out.
In the club awards Gabrielle Sutcliffe took out the Chris Tidd Most Promising Under 21 player, while Brendan and Linda Eyers won the Club People for the Year.
The club would like to acknowledge our sponsors for this season that are helping with the move to the new competition, Corowa RSL Club, Hotel Australia, David Lane Builder, Corowa Home Improvements, John Rhodes Bricklaying, Sportspower Corowa, Davidson White, Potts & Schnelle, Meat on the Murray, Stockdale & Logo Corowa, Corowa Bakery, Pharmasave, Lawson Grains, BWS, Corowa Tree Care, GenTech Seeds, Bartletts Corowa Gas, Kilara Group Corowa, Origin Clothing, Brian Eales Painting, Health Culture and Woolworths Corowa as well as the support of the Federation Council.

More in The Corowa Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text