Flower show success

April 18, 2018

The 29th Annual Autumn Flower Show had a lot of first time exhibitors.

The Rutherglen and District Garden Club recently held its 29th Annual Autumn Flower Show incorporating the Victorian Autumn Country Rose Championship.

The club would like to thank all the exhibitors including our own members, several guest exhibitors and a lot of first time exhibitors.
The entries were all excellent and made a spectacular display.
Visitors to the show enjoyed a great array of flowers, floral art, pot plants, children’s entries including school groups, fruit and vegetables and photographs together with a well-stocked trading table.
Devonshire teas were included in the entry fee and were very popular.
The club would like to thank everyone who supported the show by coming along and also by buying raffle tickets, the show committee who worked tirelessly for such a long time to put on the show, all the volunteers including those who helped with the set up and cleaning up and some of the children from the Rutherglen High School “Contact” program who helped in the kitchen.
All of these people made show possible and enjoyable for all.
This year’s winners are:
Victorian Autumn Country Rose Championship, the Rose Society Victoria Bronze Medal for Best Exhibit - Roses, the Joyce Williams Memorial Trophy for Champion Rose – Alan Coatsworth.
David Honybun Encouragement Award for Best Novice Exhibit - Rose – Karen White
The Club’s trophy for Champion Dahlia – Pam Smith
The Cyril Lewis Memorial Trophy for Best Cut Flower – Pauline Nixon
Frank McPherson Trophy for Best Container Plant – Heather Williams
Club’s trophy for Best Fruit/Vegetables – James White
Club’s trophy for Best Exhibit – Floral Art and also the runner up – Floral Art  – Esme Saxon
Best Exhibit – Art and Craft (Photography) – Min Hamdorf
Best Exhibit - children and the Betty Holmes Trophy for Best Exhibitor – Children – Georgie Kelly
The Peggy Chambers Trophy for most successful club exhibitor – Herman Fransen
The People’s Choice award was won by Helen Fuge 
Raffle prize winners were Marj Saines, Ernie Waldron and Janice Cook.

More in The Corowa Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text