Power have first win

April 25, 2018

CDHBU’s Jack Wynne getting the ball away.

CDHBU coaches Al Austin and Mick Collins going for the ball.

CDHBU has registered its first win of the season with a come from behind 3 point victory against local rivals Billabong Crows at Oaklands.

The Crows were dominant for the first quarter and a half as they played great football, making the Power look second rate as they got out to a 35-point lead with Nathan McCelland’s two goals the only score on the Power’s scoreboard. Some moves were made with the main two being Callum Butler going into the ruck and John Webb to full-forward. These moves sparked the Power as the side banged on five quick goals before half time to only trail by just five points, 7.7 to 7.2.

After kicking the first goal after half time to hit the lead, the Crows hit back and were able to take a 20-point lead into the last change.

But with Butler playing a great role in the ruck and Webb providing a target up forward with three goals, along with Russell Anderson playing well, the Power were able to hit the lead with six minutes remaining. Yet again the Crows hit back with another goal before a snap by Brad Talbot got the Power back in front with a minute to play. The Crows won the centre clearance and took a mark but missed the goal and this allowed the Power to run out 14.9.93 to 13.12.90 winners.

Awards – Sam’s Mug – John Webb, Hotel Australia – Russell Anderson, Club Mulwala – Callum Butler, PR & LE Willis – Andrew Phibbs, Corowa Golf Club – Cody Howard.

The Reserves also had their first win, after two close games, with a big victory over the Crows.

Jacob Boyle dominated around the ground while Hayden Fischer provided plenty of run for the defence and Brad Lewis was on target up front.

The Power were out to a 7.10.52 to 1.0 lead by half time.

Sam Sarah, Josh Tidd, Matt McLachlan and Jakob Hanrahan continued to work hard in the second half along with coach Sean Hanrahan as the Power run out big winners, 20.15.135 to 1.0.6.

Awards – Newmarket Mug – Jacob Boyle, Incentive – Matt McLachlan and Josh Tidd, Corowa Windscreen – Jakob Hanrahan, Thursday Night meal – Sam Sarah, Corowa Golf Club – Brad Lewis

The thirds continued to work hard and were able to slot home four goals this week, but with the Crows kicking 11 goals in the last quarter the score blew out as the Crows won 28.10.178 to 4.0.24.

Awards: Guy St Café - Alex Hayes, Corowa Sportspower - Sean Fischer, Thursday Night meal - Dougal Robb, Coaches Award - Jai Kilpatrick, Civic Café - Jordan Villanueva, Shell Voucher - Rory Batten.

More in The Corowa Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text