Corowa Cougars

August 30, 2017

Anthony Murphy won the Corowa Cougars Men’s Best and Fairest award for the third time.

Corowa Cougars Ladies Best and Fairest winner Emily Gardner accepts her award.

Last Saturday the grand final of Murray Cup Rugby league was contested at Albury’s Greenfield Park.

First up was the youth cup for players aged 14 to 16, mainly consisting of players from NE Knights and Wodonga Storm.
In what turned out to be an entertaining high scoring match, the NE Knights ran out winners - 28-22.
In the ladies tag match, the highly fancied Wodonga Storm took on the much-improved NE Knights.
In another tight match, which see-sawed back and forth, the Knights ran out 8-6 winners.
In the men’s, the strong Wodonga Storm took on the new club in the league CSU Mud Dogs.
Storm was too strong and organised on the day beating CSU Mud Dogs 22-6.
On Sunday the Cougars held their vote count and presentation day for both teams.
In the ladies it turned into a one horse race with Emily Gardner winning comfortably over a very tight battle for runner-up between Sandra Coombs and Sandra Price.
With only one vote in it, Sandra Coombs prevailed to be announced runner-up in the best and fairest.
Once again it must be recognised the great improvement of all the ladies involved in this team from the start of the season.
If any ladies wish to be part of this team next year you are quite welcome to try something different.
In the men’s best and fairest count, a tight count was expected.
In the end it was a small marginal win to local stalwart Anthony Murphy.
Runner-up was the energetic Casey Quinlivan.
Out of this came the award for best forward Damien Bonsen and best back was Bailey Muras.
In honour of continued enquiries to help anytime, anywhere and honouring that intention, the club bestowed club person of the year on Shane Jackson.
But it must be noted that the club is indebted to all other personnel that helped out during the year.
Men’s list of trophy winners - Provost B&F - Anthony Murphy; Judy O’Malley - B&F r/up - Casey Quinlivan; Sharp Family best forward - Damien Bonser; Fleming family best back - Bailey Muras; Coaches award - Jack Synnot; Ladies list of trophy winners - Web-Bed F&F - Emily Gardner; Peter Robinson r/up B&F - Sandra Coombs; Coaches Award - Tiannah Gaffy; Club person of the year - Shane Jackson.
On behalf of Louisa at Blush, two other awards were handed out.
The most improved to Rebecca Johns and the silent achiever to Tiannah Gaffy.
The club has indicated its annual meeting will be on Saturday, November 11 from 1pm at the sheds.
Once again to all the local businesses that supported the Cougars, thank you.

More in The Corowa Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text