Rutherglen Cats’ dazzling night

The Rutherglen Football Netball Club held their 2021 awards evening last Saturday night at the Corowa RSL Club.

The capacity filled room recognised the many stand-out performances amongst the senior football and netball teams with all team coaches thrilled with the amount of effort and positive attitudes players and parents alike showed in challenging circumstances throughout the 2021 season.

A major highlight of the night was Wayne Cooper receiving a Life Membership for his tireless work with the club over 35 years.

Outgoing club president Greg Lumby thanked the attendees for a terrific season despite the major interruptions from COVID-19.

“Even after a tough few years due to covid, we had plenty of talent to put a competitive senior side together,” he said.

“All our junior football grades had good numbers with the 14’s and 17’s both  securing high positions on the final ladder, and other than for Covid would have played finals.

“Our juniors polled well in TDFL league votes with Rory Beattie and Sam Edmonson taking out the runner up B + F in their respective age groups.

“This year saw many of our younger girls stepping up to fill senior and leadership roles within the Netball club.  This they did and represented our club brilliantly under Senior coach Brianna.  The club is extremely proud and grateful of all the guys and girls that stepped up and filled teams each week.

“Unfortunately with covid restrictions, we were not able to have our regular Bowls night, Mystery Bus trip, Cancer Awareness Day, Black Tie Ball , Donatelife Day nor Resi Day this year. But the lack of social functions didn’t stop our group of senior football and netballers being close and enjoying each other’s company, more than they have for a few years

“The club acknowledged the sad loss of Nev Bainbridge who was one of the passionate instigators of the Anzac Day concept.

“Early in the year we witnessed the new light towers and lights. What an absolute game changer they are, opening up so many opportunities in the future. Huge thankyou to Rog Fiedler and Pat Beattie for the work you both put into that project.”

Greg also passed on his thanks to those who helped keep the club operational.

“Thank you to all coaches, team managers, time keepers, umpires, waterboys and girls. All those volunteers that make the season tick,” he said.

“Firstly, to El Seymour for being our secretary again this year. Another great job.

“To Roger Fiedler, thank you for again keeping the finances in place, under what is an ever-increasing work load. Now you can enjoy a holiday when you and Di get away rather than me annoying you all the time.

“Pat Beattie thank you for all your hard work and assistance to me this year.

“Thank you to all the committee members that have put their hand up and assisted in some way throughout the year.”

“Liesha for time and effort being our trainer for both footy and netball.”



Best and Fairest Jimmy Hanrahan

Best and Fairest Runner Up James Tanner

Most Consistent Adam Enever

Most Courageous Rhys Renshaw

Most Improved Jayden McCluskey

Most Valuable Player Jimmy Hanrahan

Best Team Player Adam Enever

Best First Year Player Tyler Ferraro


Best and Fairest Jake Goddard

Best and Fairest Runner Up Hayden Weller

Best Utility Player Bryce Stones

Most Improved Charlie Martin

Most Courageous Jackson Bowering

Best 1st Year Player Thomas Kilpatrick

Leading Goalkicker Damien Pleming

Coaches Award Matt Curran


A Grade

Best and Fairest Jess Oats

Runner Up                           Brianna Renshaw

B Grade

Best and Fairest Hannah Kilner

Equal Runners Up Brooke SmithTahli Bainbridge

Most Improved Lola Walsh

C Grade

Best And Fairest Pia Taylor

Runner Up Emma Prescott

Most Improved Ella Kinnear


Club Person of the Year Nari Niven

Club At Heart Brianna Renshaw

"Getting The Job Done" Eloise Seymour      Roger Fiedler

Life Membership                             Wayne Cooper

Read more:

Junior Cats celebrate 2021 (