Regional planning nominations

Former shire councillors Bill Bott AM and Paul Miegel have been nominated as the community representatives for the Western Joint Regional Planning Panel for the current three-year term of council.

Mr Bott is a current member of the WJRP panel. Former Federation Councillor Bronwyn Thomas has been nominated alternate member.

Planning panels operate across NSW to provide independent, merit-based decision making on regionally significant development.

Each planning panel consists of five members. Three, including the Chair, are appointed by the Minister and two members are nominated by the relevant council.

Federation Council decided on the nominations at its monthly December meeting. “Mr Miegel has spectacular capabilities and will be very good for the panel,” Cr Gail Law said. “He will be a great member of the panel.”